Home  |  The Chapel  |  Cricket  |  Guestbook  |  Map  |  Paper Mill  |  Pumping Station  |  Severn Tunnel   
Map showing the Sudbrook area c. 1787

An image illustrating the Sudbrook area around 1787. Although Sudbrook doesn't get a mention, Portskewett and Black Rock do.

The Chapel is also marked on the map as is "New Passage" which suggests the area was a well established ferrying point across the Severn at that time.

The New Passage shown on the Map had been a Roman Ferry Route, since Roman Times. And closed upon the opening of the Severn Tunnel in 1886. The Black Rock Hotel (the house at Black Rock) was built to cater for increased traffic over the Ferry route after the coming of the South Wales Railway as a shorter route to South Wales avoiding the longer route via Gloucester to London. There was a wooden pier that went out from Black Rock that carried the trains, and was burnt to the ground on several occasions. A similar pier and Hotel existed at New Passage on the Bristol side, the Hotel still stands as a private residence but the Pier has long gone (just like Black Rock).
Thanks to Lush Rob for contributing to the above.

 prev  1 of 24  next 

paper mill info

The paper mill was opened in 1958 by the Wiggins Teape Group. The site was picked because of the nearby water...

cricket info

Reputedly founded in 1860, Sudbrook Cricket Club still thrives today...

map info

Try our map facility for an alternative way to search the Sudbrook database...

BeachBlack RockChapelCricketDocumentsFishing
GenealogyHillfortHousingMapNewsPaper Mill
Pumping StationRailRiver SevernSevern BridgeSevern TunnelShip Building
St MarysTides