Home  |  The Chapel  |  Cricket  |  Guestbook  |  Map  |  Paper Mill  |  Pumping Station  |  Severn Tunnel   
The Pier at Black Rock

In 1863 the Bristol and South Wales Railway built a new passage pier at Black Rock. It was opened on the 1st January 1864. Trains would travel out to the wooden pier, where the passengers would get off before climbing onto steam ferries. The pier was damaged by fire in 1881, but the pier was unfortunately short lived due to the building of the Severn Tunnel.

The pier was closed 1st December 1886. Sections of the pier can be seen at low tide.

This image shows the location of the pier at Black Rock as it was in 2006.

 prev  2 of 25  next 

pumping station info

Built to pump water from the Severn Tunnel after a 'great spring' was discovered, it's been in action since 1886...

chapel info

"...on the very brink of this cliff is an old ruin called Sudbrook Chapel, very picturesque to see..."

bridge info

Today, two bridges span the Severn near Sudbrook providing quick exits from England...

BeachBlack RockChapelCricketDocumentsFishing
GenealogyHillfortHousingMapNewsPaper Mill
Pumping StationRailRiver SevernSevern BridgeSevern TunnelShip Building
St MarysTides