Sudbrook.info title
  
     Home  |  The Chapel  |  Cricket  |  Guestbook  |  Map  |  Paper Mill  |  Pumping Station  |  Severn Tunnel   
1957
NEWS: February 1957

Pumping Station Switches to Electric
This was a story run by the South Wales Argus 22nd Febuary 1957 which covered a full page. The reporter at the time was a Ivor Hoare.

The item was published due to the pumping station undergoing modernisation. The pumps had been running since it was opened in 1886 by steam but these pumps were now going to be electrified.

  
 prev  4 of 19  next 

pumping station info

Built to pump water from the Severn Tunnel after a 'great spring' was discovered, it's been in action since 1886...


chapel info

"...on the very brink of this cliff is an old ruin called Sudbrook Chapel, very picturesque to see..."


bridge info

Today, two bridges span the Severn near Sudbrook providing quick exits from England...


BeachBlack RockChapelCricketDocumentsFishing
GenealogyHillfortHousingMapNewsPaper Mill
Pumping StationRailRiver SevernSevern BridgeSevern TunnelShip Building
St MarysTides