Sudbrook.info title
  
     Home  |  The Chapel  |  Cricket  |  Guestbook  |  Map  |  Paper Mill  |  Pumping Station  |  Severn Tunnel   
1886
Pumping Station

The pumping station was built to pump water out of the Severn Tunnel which was constructed by Thomas Walker and was opened in 1886.

During the building of the Severn Tunnel a “great spring” was found. The pumping station was built to remove the water from the tunnel.

The water pumped from the pumping station has been used for many years by the Sudbrook paper mill and the Whitbread Brewery in Magor.

The image here comes from a 1957 edition of the South Wales Argus.

  
 prev  1 of 16  next 

pumping station info

Built to pump water from the Severn Tunnel after a 'great spring' was discovered, it's been in action since 1886...


chapel info

"...on the very brink of this cliff is an old ruin called Sudbrook Chapel, very picturesque to see..."


bridge info

Today, two bridges span the Severn near Sudbrook providing quick exits from England...


BeachBlack RockChapelCricketDocumentsFishing
GenealogyHillfortHousingMapNewsPaper Mill
Pumping StationRailRiver SevernSevern BridgeSevern TunnelShip Building
St MarysTides