Sudbrook.info title
  
     Home  |  The Chapel  |  Cricket  |  Guestbook  |  Map  |  Paper Mill  |  Pumping Station  |  Severn Tunnel   
1966
First Severn Bridge Opens

This picture is taken from a post card dated approx 1969. On the card it states the bridge was opened by the Queen on 8th September 1966 and cost 8 million pounds. The main span of the bridge is 3,240ft and at that time was the seventh longest bridge in the world. The towers are 443ft above the water level. The whole structure used 18,500tons of steel and 126 cu.yds of concrete.

  
 prev  2 of 8  next 

pumping station info

Built to pump water from the Severn Tunnel after a 'great spring' was discovered, it's been in action since 1886...


chapel info

"...on the very brink of this cliff is an old ruin called Sudbrook Chapel, very picturesque to see..."


bridge info

Today, two bridges span the Severn near Sudbrook providing quick exits from England...


BeachBlack RockChapelCricketDocumentsFishing
GenealogyHillfortHousingMapNewsPaper Mill
Pumping StationRailRiver SevernSevern BridgeSevern TunnelShip Building
St MarysTides